Delete Data

Just removing a file from a repository with version control does not actually remove it. It is still available in previous commits and remains in the repository, using up space.

Deleting files from all commits of a repository can be required for several reasons:

  • Files contain secrets such as passwords or keys
  • Files may contain copyrighted, stolen unlicensed data or data not ready for publication
  • Large files that should not be in the project making it unnecessarily big and exceed the project space limitations

There is a comprehensive guide in the GitLab online documentation. Please follow the instructions there.

Triggering a repository cleanup is essential for freeing space if that is the goal. If it has no effect then please try again after 30 minutes.

Page URL: https://www.isg.inf.ethz.ch/bin/view/Main/HelpVersionControlGitLabDeleteData
2021-12-08
© 2021 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich